Sometimes on a cold, dark, winter afternoon all you want to do is loll around on a warm sofa with your new glasses and a large mug of tea.  I say it’s the perfect excuse to watch a load of films you may have missed and claim you are educating yourself with cultural classics – it’s kind of education isn’t it? I’ve chosen eight favourite Winter-themed films. Have you seen them all? What’s your favourite? M

The Shining (1980)

Does holidaying with your family make you feel psychotic? You’re in good company then with Jack Nicholson’s winter caretaker and his wife Shelley Duvall. Filmed in Montana and Oregon, the film features the wintery American wilderness at it’s best. Stanley Kubrick produced and directed and it’s based on the Stephen King novel.

Shining_TimberlineLodge

Fargo (1996)

“A lot can happen in the middle of nowhere” especially if you are a heavily pregnant police chief investigating a couple of local murders. A dark, comedy crime thriller set in the snowy drifts of Minnesota (where 70% of the population are descended from either German or Nordic ancestry, yah?) It won a Best Picture Oscar and a Best Actress Oscar for Frances McDormand.

Alive (1993)

Starring Ethan Hawke and based on the true stoy of a young Uruguayan rugby team involved in a plane crash in the snowy peaks of the high Andes. Fascinating account of true-life survival against the odds.

Bridget Jones Diary (2001)

Pretty sure I would run through the snow in underwear and old trainers to catch Colin Firth. Also famous for Hugh Grant, big pants and blue string soup.

chickbridget

Dr Zhivago (1965)

Julie Christie and Omar Sharif’s romance vies with majestic cinematography in David Lean’s Oscar-winning, Russian classic. Definitely one to watch on the sofa as it is over 3 hours long. Fur hats at the ready!

Groundhog Day (1993)

Ever feel like you are living the same day over and over again? At least with this film you can do it in the company of Bill Murray’s arrogant weatherman stuck in an endless loop of Sonny & Cher’s ‘I got you Babe’.

x400

Misery (1990)

“I’m your number one fan”. Adapted from a Stephen King’ thriller, Oscar-winning Kathy Bates plays the psychotic uber-fan of author James Caan who saves him from a car accident in the snow but then flies into a murderous rage when he changes the destiny of the lead character (Misery Chastain) in his romantic novels . Extremely claustrophobic and I still can’t watch the ankle scene.

Planes, Trains and Automobiles (1987)

The late, great John Candy and Steve Martin are strangers slung together in this comedy about getting home for Thanksgiving. Featuring one of my favourite Steve Martin scenes:

How may I help you?

You can start by wiping that fucking dumb-ass smile off your rosy, fucking cheeks! And you can give me a fucking automobile: a fucking Datsun, a fucking Toyota, a fucking Mustang, a fucking Buick! Four fucking wheels and a seat!

I really don’t care for the way you’re speaking to me.

And I really don’t care for the way your company left me in the middle of fucking nowhere with fucking keys to a fucking car that isn’t fucking there. And I really didn’t care to fucking walk, down a fucking highway, and across a fucking runway to get back here to have you smile in my fucking face. I want a fucking car RIGHT FUCKING NOW!

May I see your rental agreement?

I threw it away.

Oh boy.

Oh boy, what?

You’re fucked!

