I have always religiously (ha!) celebrated Pancake Day. As a child I was so excited to get home from school and get through the boring main course as quick as possible to get to the main event. The tension of the ‘will she, won’t she’ flip the pancakes and staring in awe when my mother succeeded (not something I have ever mastered). It was a ritual I loved – sitting patiently waiting my turn with my sister, examining the Jif lemon- shaped bottle in great detail, wondering how much sugar I could get away with before my mother noticed and then the warm pancake being dropped on my plate. The smell and the steam gently rising and then the delicious combination of sharp lemon, gritty sugar and the soft pancake – you never wanted it to end. jif In my twenties, pre-kids I became a bit more adventurous (and tacky) mainly revolving around chocolate. I can highly recommend Nutella, (RIP Michele Ferrero, Nutella founder) chopped strawberries and sliced bananas or melted Rolos and whipped cream were another great favourite. My kids now share the same excitement as me and having two teenage boys, batter for up to 30 pancakes is not unheard of. I hope that once my kids leave home I’ll continue to honour the tradition but maybe in a different manner. I wonder if the lemon and sugar combo will be too poignant of my own and my kids memories? With that in mind, I thought of the perfect recipe. It’s fast (you can even buy ready made pancakes, but let them get to room temperature otherwise they will break when you fold them), it has booze (great for those aged bottles at the back of the booze cupboard) and most importantly tastes delicious. I think I could be a convert…what’s your favourite way to eat pancakes? M

Crepes Suzette – Nigella Express

Serves 2

Juice of 1 orange

Zest of ½ orange

90 grams of butter

40 grams of caster sugar

4 shop bought pancakes

40 ml Grand Marnier or Cointreau or Triple Sec FullSizeRender

  1. Pour the orange juice into a saucepan, and add the zest, butter and sugar. Bring to the boil, and then turn the heat down to a simmer, cooking for a further 10-15 minutes, until the sauce becomes syrupy.
  1. Fold the crepes into quarters and then arrange them in a large pan, or any flameproof dish, in a circular pattern and slightly overlapping each other.
  1. Pour the warm syrup over the crepes and then gently warm them through for about 5 minutes over a low heat.
  1. Warm the orange liqueur of your choice in the emptied but still syrupy saucepan. When the crepes are hot in the orange sauce, pour the liqueur over them and set light to the pan to flambe them. Serve immediately, spooning crepes and sauce onto each plate.

FullSizeRender[2]

