IMG_2853 My name is Sarah and I am a book addict. It’s out of control. I am a member of 2 book clubs, go to literary festivals, and second hand bookshops are my class A – the dustier the better. I will never reveal my dealers names (in case someone else gets the best stuff). Anyway, back to the subject. Thursday 5th March is World Book Day. The calls are going out from parents of young children everywhere for fancy dress outfits for their kids to go to school dressed as their favourite book character. Sadly that’s restricted to junior schools, and as my kids have moved on, that also means the end of them taking their book voucher  in their little hands down to the local bookshop to spend on the latest Alex Rider or Tracey Beaker.

Although my personal involvement in WBD is now limited, my involvement in books will never be. So, in the manner of pretending I am a well known author or literary figure, I am going to do a book-based Q & A, feel free to join in the comments section.

What was the last book you read? The last book was H is For Hawk by Helen McDonald, a sort of autobiographical guide to grieving by way of taming a Goshawk, if I had to distill it so brutally.

Did you enjoy it? I liked the writing, the plot wasn’t super fast but I enjoyed the emotion – and the duality of the story line.

What was your last impulse buy? It’s called A Year Of Living Danishly by Helen Russell. I’ve just started it, the cover is lovely and cheerful – look!

IMG_3139

What is on you tbr (to be read) pile? Watching The English by Kate Fox, Coming Up Trumps by Baroness Trumpington and my next bookclub book is The Village Against The World by Dan Hancox.

Give us some of your favourite books. Ones that stay in my mind because I enjoyed them so much are; Year Of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks, Persuasion by Jane Austen, A Prayer For Owen Meany by John Irving, The Painted Veil by Somerset Maugham, A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry, To Kill A Mockingbird (is there anyone who wouldn’t put this on their list?) by Harper Lee, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens and Venice by Jan Morris. I’ll stop there for now.

What were your favourite books as a child? Enid Blyton was high on my list when I was very young, by the time I realised she was a rancid old snob with racist overtones it was too late – she had already hooked me in, damn you Julian and Uncle Quentin! I had a good dealer, she supplied the local jumble sale, she kept the best stuff back for me. But my first book love was Little Women – which March sister was your favourite?  Mine was Jo. The first ‘grown up’ book I remember reading was The Womens Room by Marilyn French.

Do you have a Kindle? Yes. I like the fact you can download a book sample before you buy.

What books did you enjoy reading to your children? I loved reading the Allan Ahlberg poem/stories, The Lonely Scarecrow by Tim Preston because it had such lovely art work, and the sad but uplifting story of The Lorax by Dr Seuss. When they got older I read them the whole Harry Potter series, so good we read them twice. IMG_3208Are you a book addict?  I’d love to hear your favourite books or reading recommendations.  S

